Emma Hardinge Britten (1823-1899)

Spiritualists have no fixed creed but follow the “Seven Principles” as a simple philosophy for our way of life. These Principles, originally 5 in number, were given through the spiritual mediumship of Emma Hardinge Britten (1823-1899) by Robert Owen, the great Socialist.

These Seven Principles Are:

  1. Fatherhood of God
  2. The Brotherhood of Man
  3. Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
  4. The continuous existence of the human Soul
  5. Personal Responsibility
  6. Compensation and retribution hereafter for all good
    and evil deeds done on earth
  7. Eternal progress open to every Soul

Whilst we uphold these Seven Principles, we are not dogmatic and realise that every person follows their own path towards Spirituality. Unlike other religions, we do not claim to have all the answers and recognise that everyone has something to contribute.

At Mexborough Spiritualist Church we have no wish to convert or coerce anyone into joining our membership, rather we aim to inform, explain and offer friendship. Naturally, we encourage you to attend our events, but your chosen spiritual path is up to you.